Web Sites and Searches
- Animal Health Select

The Animal Health Select logo will appear on your search results pages. Click on it to return to this page.
Animal Health Select is a web search engine powered by Google Co-op that has been restricted to selected animal health web sites. Currently Animal Health Select focuses on the web sites listed below.
(For another search engine that covers even more animal health web sites, see veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/)
- Animal Health Care.ca. Animal health care information and advice from Canadian Veterinarians. Cats, Dogs, Farm Animals, Other Animals.
- Animal Welfare INformation Center (National Agriculture Library, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture).
- animalbehaviour.net. This site is maintained by a veterinarian with a particular interest in animal behaviour. Sections: Companion animals, farm animals, exotic animals, animal training, recent advances.
- BEHAVE: Behavioral Education for Human, Animal, Vegetation and Ecosystem Management. Web site of Utah State University Extension. BEHAVE is a research and outreach program aimed at understanding the principles that govern diet and habitat selection.
- Canadian Council on Animal Care. CCAC is the national organization responsible for setting and maintaining standards for the care and use of animals in research, teaching and testing throughout Canada.
- Canadian Federation of Humane Societies. Site includes fact sheets, annual reports and issues of the newsletter Animal Welfare in Focus.
- Canadian Veterinary Medical Association.
- Dr. Temple Grandin's Web Page: Livestock Behaviour, Design of Facilities and Humane Slaughter. Dr. Grandin is a designer of livestock handling facilities and a Professor of Animal Science at Colorado State University. Her site contains information and research articles on livestock behaviour and handling.
- Farmed Animal Net. Farmed Animal Net was developed out of a need for current, easily accessible information on farmed animal issues. Our mission is to empower individuals and organizations with knowledge about the complex issues relating to the billions of animals bred and slaughtered for human consumption. Farmed Animal Net strives to be an objective, trustworthy source of academic and industry information for animal advocates, educators, researchers, the media, legislators, and others.
- Farmer's Weekly Interactive. Online version of the British farm magazine.
- Guidelines for the Recognition and Assessment of Animal Pain. Web site of the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, Edinburgh, Scotland.
- Horse Behavior and Psychology. Site includes 20 articles from Alternative Horse Magazine.
- Livestock Issues Research Unit, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. The LIRU site includes the Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Behavior, essentially an online version of the Dictionary of Farm Animal Behavior, second edition, by J. F. Hurnik, A. B. Webster, and P.B. Siegel (Iowa State University Press, Ames, 1995).
- Merck Veterinary Manual. "The Merck Veterinary Manual is the single most comprehensive electronic reference for animal care information. It is brought to you as a service of Merck & Co., Inc., providing quality medical information on a not-for-profit basis for more than 100 years, and Merial Limited, dedicated to producing a wide range of pharmaceuticals and vaccines to keep livestock and pets healthy and productive."
- National Farm Animal Care Council (Canada). Site includes recdommended codes of practice for the care and handling of farm animals.
- NetVet. Links to veterinatry specialty web sites on these topics: Alternative Medicine; Anatomy; Anesthesiology; Behavior; Biotechnology; Cardiology; Clinical Pathology; Comparative Medicine; Dentistry; Dermatology;Epidemiology; Ethics; Genetics; Infectious Disease; Informatics; Neurology; Nutrition; Oncology; Ophthalmology; Orthopedics; Pathology; Pharmacology; Practice Management; Radiology; Species; Sports Medicine; Surgery; Theriogenology; Toxicology
- Pighealth.com. A site with information resources on raising and maintaining pigs. Includes full text documents as well as tables of contents and reviews of books. Books not in the RRC Library can be ordered on Interlibrary Loan.
- Stereotypic Animal Behaviour - Fundamentals and Applications to Welfare. Website maintained by Prof. Georgia Mason of the University of Guelph as a companion to 'Stereotypic Animal Behaviour - Fundamentals and Applications to Welfare, ed. Georgia Mason and Jeff Rushen (Wallingford, Oxon. UK, CABI, 2006). The site includes a collection of video clips illustrating stereotypical behavior in various animals.
- veterinarymedicine.dvm360.com/. This web site provides is devoted to all aspects of running an animal health business. The site includes the full text of articles from these periodicals: Veterinary Medcine; Veterinary Economics; Firstline; and DVMnewsmagazine. The site also includes a search engine covering animal health web sites.
- Western College of Veterinary Medicine: Applied Ethology. This site contains articles on animal health topics Most of the animal behaviour sites listed below were selected from this web site.
- Western College of Veterinary Medicine: Behaviour Problems. Links to information sheets created by WCVM students.