Skip to main content

Trade Directories: Online

Canada 411. This is an online telephone book for Canada. The site is maintained by the Yellow Pages Group. The site offers the following services:

Canadian Companies Capabilities Directory. (Industry Canada) An online directory with detailed information on about 50,000 Canadian companies, including both manufacturing and service companies. Instead of searching the whole directory, users can focus their searches on any of more than 60 specialized directories by business sector or product.

  • Detailed search -- allows users to focus their search on specified company characteristics (location, product or service, sales level, number of employees, export interests, etc.)

Canadian Trade Index. A directory of 30,000 Canadian manufacturers and distributors. Published since 1900. Search by keyword or browse by product category. Listings include summary of products, address information and a link to the company's web site. The paper version of this directory is available at both the Notre Dame Campus Library and the John & Bonnie Buhler (Exchange District Campus) Library (see below).

Database of Federally Incorporated Companies (Industry Canada) Date of incorporation, last known address, current status. No product information.

Fraser's: Canada's Online Industrial Directory. Similar to Canadian Trade Index. Search engine requires users to register online (free of charge). Alternatively, users can browse through the list of product categories without registering. Company profiles provide addresses, product lists and links to company web sites. The paper version of Fraser's Canadian Trade Directory was discontinued with the 2007 edition.

ThomasNet. The online version of the Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. Search for products by keyword or browse through product categories. Company profiles include addresses, product lists and links to company web sites. Covers U.S. companies and products.

zzcomdironline