Industry Canada/Strategis
Strategis was a web site designed by Industry Canada as an online library of business resources produced by both government agencies and non-government organizations. The Strategis site has now been merged with the main Industry Canada web site.
The Industry Canada/Strategis site contains a vast amount of information of interest to entrepreneurs. Here are a few key resources (for others, see the site's menus and search engine):
- Business Information by Industrial Category. Since the information comes from different sources, it varies from profile to profile. Some profiles contain "snapshots" of the current state of the industry as well as links to other information sources on the Web.
- Canadian Companies Capabilities Directory. An online directory with detailed information on about 50,000 Canadian companies, including both manufacturing and service companies. Instead of searching the whole directory, users can focus their searches on any of more than 60 specialized directories by business sector or product. The Detailed search -- allows users to focus their search on specified company characteristics (location, product or service, sales level, number of employees, export interests, etc.). For more trade directories, see the RRC Library's Company and Industry Information research guide.
- Database of Federally Incorporated Companies. Date of incorporation, last known address, current status. No product information.
- Small Business Profiles (Performance Plus) - A database of industry averages and ratios based on surveys of Canadian companies in various industry sectors. Statistics Canada collected the data and Industry Canada makes it available on the Strategis web site as part of "Performance Plus", an online system designed to allow companies to compare their own performance against industry benchmarks. Industry sectors can be searched by keyword, by SIC or NAICS industry code, or by choosing from a hierarchical menu of sectors. (See also 6.1.11. Industry Averages and Ratios.)
- Trade Data Online. You can search Trade Data Online by keyword to identify codes for your product, then search with the codes to find related products. The database provides import and export data broken down by year, trader (e.g., Manitoba) and trading partner (foreign countries, U.S. states).