Skip to main content

Industry Profiles: Online

Information by Industrial Sector (Industry Canada). Click on a letter of the alphabet to see lists of sectors. Since the information comes from different sources, it varies from profile to profile. Some profiles contain "snapshots" of the current state of the industry as well as links to other information sources on the Web.

Business Source Complete Industry Profiles for Canada. Clicking on this title link will retrieve more than 1,200 profiles of Canadian industry sectors from the EbscoHost Business Source Complete database. You can restrict any search to industry profiles by choosing "Industry Profile" from the Publication Type menu on the Search Options page:

An RRC student or staff login is required. For more information see Business Source Complete in the RRC Library Online Reference Sources guide.

Marketline Business Information Center (formerly Datamonitor). A database of international market, country and industry reports providing forecasts and in-depth analysis. Contains company, industry and country profiles. RRC student or staff login required.

E-Stat (Statistics Canada). E-Stat is a database of census, socioeconomic and industrial data produced by Statistics Canada for use in Canadian schools. Much of the industrial data consists of annual and monthly time series tables from Statistics Canada's CANSIM database containing production, sales and other figures for various industry sectors. RRC student or staff login required. See the RRC Library E-Stat Research Guide and "E-Stat" in the Statistical Data Sources Research Guide for more information.

Small Business Profiles (Performance Plus) - A database of industry averages and ratios based on surveys of Canadian companies in various industry sectors. Statistics Canada collected the data and Industry Canada makes it available on the Strategis web site as part of "Performance Plus", an online system designed to allow companies to compare their own performance against industry benchmarks. Industry sectors can be searched by keyword, SIC or NAICS industry code, or by choosing from a hierarchical menu of sectors. For more see the RRC Library Small Business Profiles (Performance Plus) help guide. See also Annual Statement Studies (left navigation bar under "Industry Profiles: RRC Library").

Trade Data Online Database -- You can search Trade Data Online by keyword to identify codes for your product, then search with the codes to find related products. The database provides import and export data broken down by year, trader (e.g., Manitoba) and trading partner (foreign countries, U.S. states). Items are listed by Canadian Export Classification (see Topical Index page of this guide).

zzindprofonline