Online Reference Sources
- Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost). Most of the journals listed under "Periodicals (Electronic)", above, come from this database. Emphasis of Academic Search Premier is on the social sciences. Here is a sample search on Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
- Canadian Reference Centre (EbscoHost). This database covers mostly Canadian sources with some international content. Links appear at the top of your search for "Canadian magazines", "Canadian newspapers", "International magazines", etc. Click on one of these links to focus your search. Here is a sample search on ADHD or Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA Reference). This is another database of Canadian magazine and newspaper sources. (CBCA login page)
- CINAHL With Full Text (EbscoHost). The emphasis of CINAHL is on nursing and allied health. Articles come primarily from medical and health journals. Here is a sample search on Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
- ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center. This is a huge database of documents on all aspects of education. Although it is a U.S. database there is quite a lot of Canadian content. An increasing amount of this information is available free online. Documents and articles not available online can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. Older documents are available on microfiche at the Manitoba Education Library (1181 Portage Avenue) and the D.S. Woods Education Library (University of Manitoba). (ERIC Advanced Search page)
- Primary Search (EbscoHost). This is a database of full-text articles from children's magazines. It is useful for finding material on ECE topics that is written for children. Here are sample searches on Sharing and Listening.