Web Sites and Searches
Early Childhood Education Select

The ECE Select logo will appear on your search results pages. Click on it to return to this page.
ECE Select is a web search engine powered by Google Co-op that has been restricted to selected Early Childhood Education web sites. Currently ECE Select focuses on these web sites:
- Aboriginal Children's Circle of Early Learning (Canada) (http://www.accel-capea.ca/index.htm). ACCEL "is a fully-functioning bilingual, web portal clearinghouse on Aboriginal early childhood development (ECD). You can consult the site to review, research and discuss best and promising practices; to exchange with a highly engaged network of Aboriginal ECD practitioners and researchers; and to keep in touch with the emerging needs of communities across Canada."
- Atkinson Centre for Society and Child Development (Canada) (http://www.acscd.ca/acscd/public/home.nsf/WhatsNew!OpenPage). The Centre, located at OISE/University of Toronto, is a network of researchers, practitioners and policy makers that addresses three questions: (1) What do we really know about child development? (2) How do children grow-up today? (3) How can we use what we now know to improve children's health, well-being, coping and competence?
- Canadian Child Care Advocacy Association (http://www.childcareadvocacy.ca/). CCCAA "is dedicated to working together for the right of all children to access a publicly funded, inclusive, quality, non-profit child care system."
- Canadian Child Care Federation (http://www.cccf-fcsge.ca/home_en.html). A non-profit organization of early learning and child care practitioners, academics, parents and policy makers which promotes excellence in early learning and child care through best and promising practice, capacity building, collaborations, networks and partnerships.
- Canadian Council on Social Development (http://www.ccsd.ca/). "CCSD is a non-profit social policy and research organization focusing on issues such as poverty, social inclusion, disability, cultural diversity, child well-being, employment and housing."
- Centre of Excellence for Children's Wellbeing (Canada) (http://www.cecw-cepb.ca/home_e.html). CECW "fosters research and disseminates knowledge about the prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect."
- Child & Family Canada (cfc-efc.ca/). Presented through the cooperation of 39 non-profit organizations committed to the health and well-being of children and their families.
- Child Care Human Resource Sector Council (Canada) (http://www.ccsc-cssge.ca/english/). "The CCHRSC is a pan-Canadian, non-profit organization that addresses pressing human resources issues in the child care sector."
- Child Care Resource and Research Unit (Canada) (http://www.childcarecanada.org/). CRRU "focuses on research and policy resources in the context of a high quality system of early childhood education and child care in Canada."
- Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University (www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/). Contains abstracts of over 5000 picture books for children, preschool to grade 3. Good for identifying books that deal with a theme (e.g., friendship, jealousy). Book titles can then be searched in local libraries (RRC Library, Winnipeg Public Library or elsewhere).
- Clearing House on Early Education and Parenting (ceep.crc.uiuc.edu/index.html). The Clearinghouse on Early Education and Parenting (CEEP) is part of the Early Childhood and Parenting (ECAP) Collaborative (below) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. CEEP provides publications and information to the worldwide early childhood and parenting communities.
- CLWG: Children's Literature Web Guide (Canada) (www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/). Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.
- Early Childhood and Parenting (ECAP) Collaborative (ecap.crc.uiuc.edu/). ECAP is "home to more than a dozen projects that focus on educating and raising young children. ECAP hosts research, technical assistance, and service projects" including the Clearing House on Early Education and Parenting (above).
- Early Childhood Educator's and Family Web Corner (users.stargate.net/~cokids/teacher.html). Articles and links to sites that may be of interest to early childhood educators and parents.
- Earlychildhood.com (www.earlychildhood.com/) "The source of information for all who share an interest in improving the education and general life experience of young children".
- Education Index: Preschool Resources (www.educationindex.com/preschool/). ECE-related web sites.
- Encyclopedia on Early Childhood Development (http://www.child-encyclopedia.com/en-ca/home.html). The encyclopedia "covers 33 topics related to the psychosocial development of the child, from conception to the age of five, and presents the most up-to-date scientific knowledge."
- Holidays on the net (www.holidays.net/). Dates and descriptions of all kinds of holidays.
- Idea Box : Early Childhood Education & Activity Resource (www.theideabox.com/). Lots of ideas for games, crafts, songs, and seasonal activities.
- International Play Association (Canada) (http://www.ipacanada.org/home.htm). IPA Canada promotes, supports and coordinates play oriented initiatives in the following areas: Children's environments; Play leadership; Child development through play; Toys and play materials; Safety and play; Children with special needs; Organized sport.
- Invest in Kids (http://www.investinkids.ca/ContentPage.aspx?name=home). "Invest in Kids aims to strengthen the parenting knowledge, skills and confidence of all those who touch the lives of children from birth to age five."
- KidsHealth (www.kidshealth.org/index.html). Web site devoted to the health of children and teens. Created by the medical experts at The Nemours Foundation, KidsHealth has trainloads of accurate, up-to-date information about growth, food & fitness, childhood infections, immunizations, lab tests, medical and surgical conditions, and the latest treatments. Winner of numerous Internet awards.
- National Association for the Education of Young Children (www.naeyc.org/) NAEYC is the nation's largest and most influential organization of early childhood educators and others dedicated to improving the quality of programs for children from birth through third grade.
- National Scientific Council on the Developing Child (NSCDC) (http://www.developingchild.net/). A multi-disciplinary collaboration of leading scholars in neuroscience, early childhood development, pediatrics, and economics devoted to closing "the gap between what we know and what we do to promote successful learning, adaptive behavior, and sound physical and mental health for all young children".
- NNCC: National Network for Child Care (www.nncc.org/) "The mission of NNCC is to: increase and strengthen the quality of nonparental care environments using the expertise of Cooperative Extension's nationwide dissemination system; make quality research, resources, and best practices available nationally for direct local access; Provide leadership to the nation's Cooperative Extension System in partnership with other organizations on child care issues."
- Perpetual Preschool Page (www.perpetualpreschool.com/). This site was created to celebrate the creativity and dedication of all those who contribute to the perpetual education of young children.
- Reggio Emilia (ceep.crc.uiuc.edu/poptopics/reggio.html). This section of the Early Childhood and Parenting (ECAP) Collaborative web site (above) contains information and resources related to the approach to early childhood education developed in the preschools of Reggio Emilia, Italy.