Online Reference Sources
Periodical Article Databases
- Library and Information Science and Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA). LISTA with Full Text is EbscoHost's premier library science and technology, but other databases provide library-related articles from a variety of fields. For example, articles on medical libraries will appear in medical journals that are not covered by LISTA. For more information see Periodicals (Electronic) in the left navigation bar. Sample search: Manitoba.
- Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost). Academic Search Premier, covering the sciences, social sciences and humanities, is EbscoHost's largest database. It covers several of the same library journals as LISTA does. Sample search: full text articles on library technicians.
- Business Source Complete (EbscoHost). A periodical article database that covers business and applied technology. Sample search: full text articles on library technicians.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA Reference). A Canadian journal and news article database published by Proquest.
- Canadian Reference Centre (EbscoHost). Canadian journal and news articles (including articles from the Winnipeg Free Press). Sample search: full text articles on library technicians. Click on the links at the left of the search results screen to limit by "Canadian newspapers", etc.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). The major U.S. educational research database also provides abstracts of library-related journal articles and commercially published books as well as full-text access to report literature. Older reports are available in Winnipeg in the ERIC microfiche collections at the Manitoba Education Library (Portage Avenue and Wall Street) and the D.S. Woods Education Library at the University of Manitoba. Sample search: full text articles on library technicians. Available free on the web - no login required.
Other Sources
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, Second Edition. Marcia J. Bates; Mary Niles Maack and Miriam Drake, editors. An online "second edition" of the 56-volume paper encyclopedia published by M. Dekker from 1968 onward. RRC student or staff login required. The online edition does not include all the articles from the paper edition, which is held in the Reference Department at Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba.
- ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science by Joan M. Reitz. A free web version of the book published by Libraries Unlimited. Excellent dictionary with lots of cross-reference links.