FOR REFERENCE ONLY -
To use a template follow the instruction in the Training guide: Using The Templates
PROCEDURESThis guide outlines the set of procedures that will be applied to the creation and maintenance of RRC Guides. It includes creating new guides, working with existing guides and the responsibilities of the Guide Review Committee.
Its purpose is not to restrict Guide owners but to provide them with a structure to ensure that we retain a manageable collection size, prevent duplication of work and maintain the scope of the collection.
“GUIDES” or "RRC GUIDES" was determined to be the most generic and user-friendly term without being redundant or jargon. "LibGuides" is the name of the Springshare software product, but does not adequately explain to students and other users what Guides are and what they do.
Guides should contain resources within the collection and the web RELEVANT to the subject the guide is about. Sources should be up-to-date. An exhaustive list is not necessary as this is the launching off spot of research, not a catalog of all possible sources.
Guides should be focused on a topic, a course, an assignment, an outcome (like finding grants), etc. Huge, unwieldy guides are hard to navigate. These guides are jumping off spots for users, not textbooks. Keep It Simple!
Any repetitive information (ex. "How to use OneSearch") that might appear on multiple guides (or pages) should be excluded from Guides. This type of information should be its own Guide and depending on content, included in Library 101 subject area. All guides have links pointing toward Library 101 content.
Using a book as a reference we can understand the structure of an RRC Guide
Guides are the book. It contains all the information you want to share (pages, boxes, and content.)
Pages are the next level. The pages organize the content within the guide.
Boxes. On each page are boxes containing the actual content. Boxes can include text, links, databases, books, videos, widgets, and more. There are different types of boxes within the LibGuides Software but RRC Guides only uses two types:
General: used most of the time, general boxes can contain text, links, databases, books, etc.
User Profile: displays any user's profile in your system. This is the only type of content this box type displays.
Content items. These are the individual items within a box. There can be multiple content items such as rich text, books, links, databases within a box. Typically the boxes in an RRC Guide are organized by type.
A guide may have one or many pages, a page can contain many boxes, and a box can contain many content items.
