Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to How to use Articles/Databases List (A-Z)
Red River College subscribes to many different databases, each with its own specific focus and tools. Articles/Databases List (A-Z) allows you to search this collection to find the database that's right for you.
Don’t forget to check out the related guides for similar topics and if you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Thanks, and enjoy!
1. Click the Articles/Databases List (A-Z) button on the left-hand navigation panel of the Library homepage
Click the orange tab on the OneSearch widget (above).
These databases connect to a fountain of information in the form of articles, journals, news, reviews, and more – Great for research! Each database touches on a specific area of information and interest. They are sorted alphabetically and briefly summarized with the extent of their purpose and the disciplinary subject(s) they touch on.
2. Click on a Database title to enter that database.
Many of the databases included on the list are independent (not on OneSearch). This means each one will have its own set of search procedures. Most will have common features such as basic and advanced search options and boolean operators.
The top of the Database page has a search bar that allows you to filter out databases that do not focus on what you are looking for.
For example, if you are looking for articles to do with Nursing, simply choose Nursing, Allied Health & Life Sciences under the All Subjects dropdown, and suddenly only databases that contain information relating to those areas of study will remain on the page.
Your college username and password are required for access to most databases (there are a handful that are open access to anyone).
Next, simply click the continue button to enter the database. More about logging into RRC Online Resources.
Search multiple databases at the same time
There are a couple of database groups that can be searched at the same time - these groups overlap a bit.
OneSearch - the databases included within a OneSearch search are indicated with a green "OneSearch" icon beside the database name.
More about using OneSearch
EBSCOhost - this is a group of databases from the EBSCOhost collection - some of these databases can also be found within OneSearch.
- Select EBSCOhost or one of the EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search complete. This will take you to the EBSCO interface.
- Click the CHOOSE DATABASES link located above the search bar
- Check the boxes for all the databases you want to include in your search. Click the OK button.
Make a recommendation
Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.
Do you have suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.