Library and Academic Services: Disability and Community Support: Articles

Featured Journals

1. GO TO JOURNAL COLLECTION >>
Location: OneSearch
Abilities by Canadian Abilities Foundation
Location: Located at NDC

Canada’s Lifestyle Magazine for people with disabilities, with a readership of about 60,000.
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
Location: Located at NDC

Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities consistently ranks among the top journals in special education and rehabilitation. Professionals in the field
offer their perspectives on new teaching approaches, program developments, administrative tools, program evaluation, service utilization studies, community
surveys, public policy issues, training and case studies, and current research in intellectual disability
Sign Language Studies
Location: Located at NDC

Sign Language Studies publishes a wide range of original scholarly articles and essays relevant to signed languages and signing communities.

Featured eJournals

Canadian Journal of Disability Studies
Location: Ejournal

The Canadian Journal of Disability Studies publishes peer-reviewed original articles that advance research in the multidisciplinary, international field of disability studies. The journal embraces a wide range of methodologies and perspectives, values collaborative and cross-disciplinary work, community partnership, and creative approaches to scholarship.
Community Living
Location: Ejournal

Community Living is an independent, quarterly magazine that supports inclusion, promotes equality and challenges assumptions about learning disability. Our editorial ethos is driven by our belief in the right for people to thrive in their communities.
Disability and rehabilitation series Assistive technology
Location: Ejournal

Disability and Rehabilitation: Assistive Technology along with Disability and Rehabilitation seek to encourage a better understanding of all aspects of disability and to promote rehabilitation science, practice and policy aspects of the rehabilitation process.
International Journal of Disability, Community and Rehabilitation
Location: Ejournal

The International Journal of Disability, Community and Rehabilitation (IJDCR) publishes papers of research and critical analyses of issues at the intersection of disability, community and rehabilitation. It welcomes perspectives of a diverse range of contributors including those who have experienced disability, researchers from a wide variety of disciplines, professionals and policy makers.
Journal of mental health research in intellectual disabilities
Location: Ejournal

Presents original scientific and scholarly contributions to advance knowledge about mental health issues among persons with intellectual disabilities and related developmental disabilities, especially autism spectrum disorders and genetic phenotypes.
Mental illness
Location: ejournal

Mental Illness is an online-only, international, Open Access peer-reviewed journal which publishes scientific papers concerning the latest advances in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness. All psychiatry-related manuscripts are welcome.

Featured Databases not included in OneSearch

These 'independent' databases are NOT included in OneSearch and must be searched individually. They tend to be more specialized so review the summary for a better understanding of what each entails.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides free access to a wealth of education-related journals, grey literature, and book sources, many of which are full-text.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Featured Databases included in OneSearch

These featured databases are included in OneSearch, however, you can select to search them independently.

Why use these links instead of OneSearch?

Using the links below, and searching an EbscoHost database individually - outside of OneSearch, may allow you to access limiters that you won't typically see in OneSearch. (E.g. Business Source Complete - you can limit by NAICS code.)

Academic Search Complete

This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
Canadian Reference Centre

This database centers on its collection of Canadian full-text content including newspapers, magazines, journals, biographies, reference books, images, and more. Also has access to international content.
Wiley Online Library
Access ended December 31, 2023. This cancellation decision has been made based on cost, uniqueness of content, and overlap of content with other databases. Alternative resources for life, health, social, and physical sciences are available through the library. Please contact Charlene Tweed, Manager, Library Resource Management, ctweed@rrc.ca if you have questions or concerns about this resource.