Library and Academic Services: Paramedicine & Primary Care Paramedic Guide: Databases

How to use databases

Library and Academic Services subscribe to many databases. Many can be searched simultaneously by using OneSearch. Others are independent, and each of these has its own search strategies. To see all the databases the library offers, check out the Articles/Databases List (A-Z). Most databases will require your college username and password to access.

To learn more about searching and using databases, check out A-Z Database List.

Featured Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
Acadoodle This link opens in a new window
Acadoodle is an online resource focusing on the medical and health-sciences sector. It boasts a large selection of video tutorials that can be viewed individually, or as part of a tested course.
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) This link opens in a new window
CCOHS’s Web Information Service gives access to various health and safety resources related to materials, chemicals, work-related illnesses and injuries, legislation, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides full-text access to more than 750 nursing and allied health journals and more than 6 million records overall. Additional materials include evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education models.
CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
Includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms. Includes CPS Drug Information, critical updates such as warnings, advisories, and drug shortages; and useful tools such as medical calculators, Clin-Info, Pill Identifier and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly literature in a variety of formats (journals, theses, reports, etc.). Free access to citations, but full-text availability may be limited.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. (Formerly known as Lynda.com) Sign-in with your college credentials.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Medline, available through Ovid Emcare Nursing full-Text Plus, provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and much more. Many of the resources are full-text and all include abstracts. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
MedlinePlus Videos This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) created these animated videos to explain topics in health and medicine, and to answer frequently asked questions about diseases, health conditions, and wellness issues.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
The premier source for evidence-based information. Designed by nurses for nurses, it aids users in providing the highest quality patient care possible. Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, and videos and images to aid in patient care.
Ovid Emcare Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wealth of medical information through several Ovid resources, including their journals database, the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database, and the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from various resource formats. Citations may include abstracts and/or links to full-text content. A U.S. National Library of Medicine resource.
SafetyHub This link opens in a new window
Safetyhub provides and promotes the use of high-quality safety video content as an integral way to ensure that people at work are informed, aware and compliant in their safety training.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers independent, academic, and professional journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.Note: To access content available to RRC, click on “Advanced” search and select “Only content to which I have full access” to filter results.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers an extensive collection articles, journals, open access publications, and e-books on a variety of topics for researchers, students, teachers, and professionals. Subject areas include physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical support tool for those in health and medical fields offering evidence-based, physician-authored recommendations based on the latest medical information. Content includes best practices, drug information, patient education, calculators, and more. Click here for registration information.
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology (2018) This link opens in a new window
Provides easy-to-follow introductions to the different systems of the human body. Includes lessons with 3D models, videos, and guides. There are two ways Red River College staff and students may connect to "Visible Body": Tablet or Mobile Instructions | Connect via a desktop computer
Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas 2021 This link opens in a new window
Human Anatomy Atlas offers thousands of models to help understand and communicate how the human body looks and works--and includes textbook-level definitions. Use it as a reference, instead of an anatomy textbook, or to create virtual lab experiences. Includes over 10,000 anatomical models.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences. Note: There have been sporadic problems connecting to Wiley Online Library. If you encounter problems making a connection to this resource, one possible remedy is to clear your cookies and attempt to reconnect.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Make a recommendation

Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.

Are you an RRC Polytech staff or student with suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.