Library and Academic Services: International Business: Laws, Regulations, and Trade

Laws, Regulations

City of Winnipeg By-laws
Winnipeg's power to make laws (called by-laws) are set forth in the provincial City of Winnipeg Act. Use the drop-down menu to view various bylaws including Major bylaws and Regulatory. To search for by-laws by key word, click on By-laws Search at the top of the List of By-laws.
Continuing Consolidation of the Statutes of Manitoba
Keyword searchable complete text of current Manitoba statutes.
Consolidated Regulations of Manitoba.
Alphabetical list of Manitoba Acts linking to the relevant regulations.
Justice Laws (Canada)
Acts, Statutes and Regulations search engine. Statutes are laws passed by the Parliament of Canada. Acts often contain clauses that allow the government to enact regulations. Regulations contain changes to license fees. Search the full text of current acts and regulations by keyword.

Importing, Exporting, International Trade

Exporting From Canada
Basic information for exporters. Canada.ca -Business and industry- International trade and investment
Importing to Canada
Importing goods or services to Canada. Canada.ca- Business and industry -International trade and investment
Export Guides and Statistics
Guides to help plan and diversify your international business footprint.
Guide to exporting commercial goods from Canada - Canada Border Service Agency
Information on exporting commercial goods from Canada.
Step-By-Step Guide to Exporting - Canada.ca
A step-by-Step Guide to Exporting from Canada ca.
Canadian Importers Database (Industry Canada)
A federal site that lists major importers in Canada grouped into Harmonized System (HS) codes. Shows total import values and who exactly the major importers are. Easier to drill down using the site than to search by the HS code you think might apply.
CIA World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 countries and other "entities" around the world.
Export and Import Controls (Global Affairs Canada)
Information on products that need special permits for importing or exporting.
Kompass International
This international trade directory provides company contact information, a brief description, number of employees and key activities (with NAICS numbers).
Trade Data Online (Canada)
Data on Canadian import and export trade with the U.S. and over 200 other countries, by product and industry.

Registration, Incorporation, Licenses, Taxes

Entrepreneurship Manitoba - Companies Office
Registers information about corporations and business names. Searchable registry of existing businesses. Incorporates the company or register the business name.
City of Winnipeg Assessment and Taxation Business Menu
Information from the City of Winnipeg's Business Tax pages.
Manitoba Finance Taxation Division, Taxes Home
Information on Retail Sales Tax and other taxes administered by the division.
Government (Canada)
As an entrepreneur, you need to stay on top of all your obligations, such as taxes and regulations that apply to your business. This section offers guidance on how to register your business and obtain any necessary permits or licences. You will also find information on selling to various levels of government and how to protect your business.

Featured Databases

In-Depth Business and Industry Databases

Better for detailed industry reports, company profiles, area information.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian and US industry reports containing trends, market information, industry statistics, competitive landscape, and other industry-related information.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides quality business information through 50,000 industry, company, and country profiles. Profiles offer standardized market data, competitive analysis, and other insights into business organization and function. Access Ends: March 31, 2024. This cancellation decision has been made based on usage data, cost, uniqueness of content, and overlap of content with other databases. Alternative resources for company and industry information are available through the library. Please contact Charlene Tweed, Manager, Library Resource Management, ctweed@rrc.ca if you have questions or concerns about this resource.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students, this database contains thousands of full-text journals and magazines, e-books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.

General Databases

Useful for new business ideas, trends, consumer behaviour, business forecasts, company information and more.

Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
This database centers on its collection of Canadian full-text content including newspapers, magazines, journals, biographies, reference books, images, and more. Also has access to international content.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream gives full-text access to almost 200 Canadian newspapers with some electronic backfiles dating back to the 1970s. Content is updated daily, giving timely access to the latest information.
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board of Canada conducts quality research related to organizational performance, economic trends, and public policy. This database includes their reports, briefings, periodicals, executive action reports, and recorded webinars.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to business news through regional business publications across North America. Coverage is weighted towards the U.S., however there is some Canadian coverage as well.

Make a recommendation

Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.

Are you an RRC Polytech staff or student with suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.