Library and Academic Services: Palliative and End of Life Care: Databases

Featured Databases not included in OneSearch

These 'independent' databases are NOT included in OneSearch and must be searched individually. They tend to be more specialized so review the summary for a better understanding of what each entails.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Medline, available through Ovid Emcare Nursing full-Text Plus, provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and much more. Many of the resources are full-text and all include abstracts. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
The premier source for evidence-based information. Designed by nurses for nurses, it aids users in providing the highest quality patient care possible. Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, and videos and images to aid in patient care.
Ovid Emcare Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wealth of medical information through several Ovid resources, including their journals database, the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database, and the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from various resource formats. Citations may include abstracts and/or links to full-text content. A U.S. National Library of Medicine resource.
CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
Includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms. Includes CPS Drug Information, critical updates such as warnings, advisories, and drug shortages; and useful tools such as medical calculators, Clin-Info, Pill Identifier and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical support tool for those in health and medical fields offering evidence-based, physician-authored recommendations based on the latest medical information. Content includes best practices, drug information, patient education, calculators, and more. Click here for registration information.
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology (2018) This link opens in a new window
Provides easy-to-follow introductions to the different systems of the human body. Includes lessons with 3D models, videos, and guides. Access via the above link on desktop computer (no mobile access)

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Featured Databases included in OneSearch

These featured databases are included in OneSearch, however, you can select to search them independently.

Why use these links instead of OneSearch?

Using the links below, and searching an EbscoHost database individually - outside of OneSearch, may allow you to access limiters that you won't typically see in OneSearch. (E.g. CINAHL and MEDLINE - you can search by MeSH.)

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, providing 1,781 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases containing high quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, trial reports, and data-driven answers to clinical questions.
JBI (Formerly Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new window
JBI, now available through Ovid Emcare Nursing full-Text Plus, provides evidence-based healthcare information to help inform clinical practice, study, and research. Includes systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and more. (Note: Formerly Joanna Briggs Institute)
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Access to a full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers an extensive collection articles, journals, open access publications, and e-books on a variety of topics for researchers, students, teachers, and professionals. Subject areas include physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Access ended December 31, 2023. This cancellation decision has been made based on cost, uniqueness of content, and overlap of content with other databases. Alternative resources for life, health, social, and physical sciences are available through the library. Please contact Charlene Tweed, Manager, Library Resource Management, ctweed@rrc.ca if you have questions or concerns about this resource.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Provide Feedback

Found a broken link? Want to suggest a resource?

Email the Library's general mailbox or email the guide owner to provide feedback for this Library guide. Guide owner information is on the "Getting Started" page of each guide.

You may also want to...