Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides

Lunch & Learn at the Library: Bring your lunch and learn a new skill

Bring your lunch and learn a new skill

Library Lunch and Learn banner image

 

Bring your lunch
and learn a new skill

The Lunch and Learn program is online!
We have uploaded videos of our popular
Lunch & Learn topics to this site.
Links are available below.

The Red River College Library presents a series of drop-in mini-lectures on a variety of research-based topics and databases. Each 20-25 min. session will feature a focused topic to help you find and access quality information efficiently. Perfect to watch over your lunch break.

Series Descriptions

Click on the links below to view pre-recorded videos; download PowerPoint presentations, and learn even more by exploring a Library Guide.

Advanced CINAHL (Nursing database) *NEW PRESENTATION*

Photo of person taking a patient's blood pressureCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature with full-text coverage of 770 health journals.  Attend this session if you would like to build better searches, know more about MeSH Subject headings, or just be more successful in your searches.

Business Research Basics

Laptop, pen, and paper with words "Market research"

Join us to learn about the many sources of Business Information the Library provides. Explore the Business Source Complete database which contains articles and detailed reports on industries, companies, current trends, news and more; learn to find Canadian Industry statistics and information in IBISWorld, and be introduced to MarketLine for industry and market statistics.

We will be taking a closer look at these individual databases in later sessions.

Business Source Complete (Database)

Photo of someone pointing at a graph with penThis essential database for business students contains tens of thousands of full-text journal and magazine articles as well as newspaper items and e-books. Find current news stories, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more greatly enhance your understanding of the world of business.

CPS Full Access (Pharmaceutical & therapeutic database)

Photo of an assortment of pills(Formerly RxTx)

CPS is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy, providing online access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug, and therapeutic information. In this session, we will explore the multiple facets of the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association’s CPS database.

Getting Started with APA 7th Edition *NEW *

Image of a book with pages flagged.

This Lunch and Learn session will introduce you to the purpose and basic conventions of citing sources in-text and in a reference list using the 7th edition of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style. It will also include a demonstration of the many student-friendly APA resources available through RRC Polytech Library.

A Post-Secondary student's first time following any academic writing style can, at first, feel scary and overwhelming. But don't worry, the RRC Polytech Library is here to help you get ready to use APA confidently and competently.

Getting Started with Research

Person writing with a pen

Research can be overwhelming. There is a lot to consider before you ever touch a search engine.

This session will cover the basics of what you need to know to be effective in research.

Want more? Check out the companion session: Enhancing your Research Skills

Enhancing your Research Skills

Magnifying glass on top of a laptop keyboardThe number one problem students have when searching is creating keywords and building them into useful search strategies.
Building on what we learned in Getting Started with Research, enhance your research skills with some more advanced techniques to break down your search question, make finding keywords easier, and use operators to create useful search strategies.

Want more? Check out the new related session: Getting Started with Research

How to be Info-Savvy: Tips for Navigating Online Information

(Formerly named: How not to drown in information)

A magnifying glass propped in front of a laptopHow do we find creditable information without getting overloaded and cynical? Take the time to learn gain learn about the challenges in searching for accurate information online. In addition, develop some techniques to develop a savvy approach to information gathering for the assignment and beyond.

IBISWorld (Business database) 

Person pointing a pen at a paper with graph on itFor Business students and anyone researching industry information, IBISWorld is a go-to database. It provides access to Canadian and US industry reports containing trends, market information, industry statistics, competitive landscape, and other industry-related information.

Knovel (Engineering database)

ENGINEERING TECHNOLOGY STUDENTS!Person building a model, with drafts nearby
Civil Engineering, Construction, Electrical & Power Engineering, Electronics & Semiconductors, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Welding Engineering & Materials Joining
Knovel is more than a database of e-books covering a variety of engineering subject areas. This unique database also features interactive tools including Properties Materials Search; Interactive Equations, the browser-based calculation software - Equation Solver, detailed Unit Converter, Steam Calculators, Interactive Periodical Table, and the ability to create and share folders of your saved results and work.
Learn the basics of this powerful tool in a quick lunchtime lecture.

MarketLine (Business database)

A pile of business sources in paper and digitalBusiness and Marketing students need to locate quality business information. Be sure to familiarize yourself with Marketline to access 50,000 industry, company, and country profiles. Profiles offer standardized market data, competitive analysis, and other insights into business organization and function. You will also find socio and macroeconomic insights.

Nursing Reference Center PLUS (Database)  **NEW/UPDATED**

A nurse holding booksJoin us to see the new Nursing Reference Center PLUS database. Designed specifically for nurses, this premier resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, along with skills videos, continuing education, drug databases, nursing research, and more. Come learn what the new Nursing Reference Center (NRC) PLUS can do for you.

NOTE: the following recording is the previous NRC edition - it will be updated in the next couple of weeks. 

OneSearch: The Library's search engine

view of hands typing on a laptop keyboardThe new and improved, OneSearch will search print books, ebooks, as well as 30+ full-text databases simultaneously. Come spend 30 min in the library and learn how to use this powerful tool.

Peer-Review

person holding pen pointing at textFor many disciplines, peer-reviewed research is required. Not sure if your perfect article is Peer-Reviewed? Check out this session to learn: what is a peer-reviewed (or scholarly) article or journal, how to identify a peer-reviewed article, and where to find peer-reviewed articles.

The New PubMed (Nursing database)

a mixture of chemistry basins.

PubMed is an open-access database, created by the National Library of Medicine, that contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed biomedical literature. PubMed is used by researchers the world over. In this session, we will explore the multiple facets of the popular PubMed database.

RefWorks: Reference Management

person typing on a laptop keyboardRefWorks simplifies the process of research, collaboration, data organization, and writing by providing an easy-to-use tool for citation, bibliography, and reference management.
Learn the basics of using this web-based tool and make writing your papers that much easier.
For any person who needs to write and cite!

Rejuvenate Your Learning: Making the Most of LinkedIn Learning

Connected shapes with icons - one labelled SKILLSThe learning videos formerly known as Lynda.com have found their way into course work and even our library guides. This session provides a refresher on what it is and navigating the various parts of a LinkedIn Learning Course to take advantage of this powerful tool for learning.

UpToDate: Point-of-care Clinical Database

medical professional looking up info on a laptopUpToDate is a point-of-care medical and drug database that contains clinical information intended to assist medical professionals in treating their patients.  It is available to students and staff at Red River College from the Library's website and can be accessed via an app from anywhere and at any time on your own mobile device. The database is intended for use in clinical settings specifically to improve patient treatment by delivering current information at the point of need, supporting timely decision making, and ensuring consistent care. Learn more about what this database has to offer and how to access and use it.

Lunch & Learn for Faculty

Faculty members, we are happy to present any of these topics for your class, please contact us for availability. Also, please feel free to link to this page, to any individual event, or video (we are happy to provide links to assist)

More information?

If you have comments or feedback about the L&L program, suggestions for topics that you would like to see presented in an upcoming series, or you would like a Lunch and Learn topic presented in your class, please contact Rosemary Woodby at rwoodby@rrc.ca.