Occupational Health and Safety Guide

The fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics has been completely revised and updated, and includes the following subjects: Managing low-back disorder risk in the workplace, Online interactivity, Neuroergonomics, Office ergonomics, Social networking, HF&E in motor vehicle transportation, User requirements, Human factors and ergonomics in aviation, Human factors in ambient intelligent environments. The main purpose of this handbook is to serve the needs of the human factors and ergonomics researchers, practitioners, and students. Each chapter has a strong theory and scientific base, but is heavily focused on real world applications. As such, a significant number of case studies, examples, figures, and tables are included to aid in the understanding and application of the material covered.

Offers a 'safety profile' of 5000 of the most important hazardous chemicals. Features unique Chemical Safety Profiles that provide a quick overview of the hazards, synonyms, and physical properties of a variety of chemicals. Details government agency standards and recommendations on the handling of each chemical. Includes three cross-indices to permit rapid location of a material by its Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number, a synonym for the material, or the DOT Guide Number. Features new chemical entries unavailable in previous versions.

Hazardous materials are any substance which have the potential to cause harm to humans, animals or the environment through direct or indirect interaction. In this book, the authors gather topical research in the study of the types, risks and control of hazardous materials, from across the globe. Topics discussed include antibiotics as environmental contaminants; controlling inorganic and organic contaminants in wastewater; hazardous metal sources and toxicity; surfactant removal in wastewater treatment; fly ash management; a chemical study of sewage sludge from a two phase anaerobic digestion plant and the complete oxidation of volatile organic compounds at moderate temperatures.

This comprehensive tool is the ultimate quick reference that OEHS professionals can use in their day-to-day business, and is a must have for all students and those planning to take certification exams. From toxicology and radiation to ventilation and noise, this desktop reference summarizes the key information for all industrial hygiene rubrics.

Finding solutions to indoor air quality problems is often a complex, multifaceted endeavor. This practical desk reference serve as a guide and information resource – both on treating existing indoor air problems effectively – and on preventing costly IAQ problems from occurring in the first place. A single discipline approach unfortunately tends to narrow both the control and the treatments options. This book cuts across professions to offer those concerned with the total facility a broader, more comprehensive approach to managing indoor air quality and mitigating indoor air quality problems.

Workplace accidents and errors cost organizations hundreds of billions of dollars each year, and the injured workers and their families endure considerable financial and emotional suffering. Occupational Health and Safety looks at the research into what causes accidents and errors in the workplace and emphasizes the psychological and behavioral aspects of risk in organizations. It highlights how organizations differ in their health and safety performance, with case studies throughout and best practices. Key elements focus on: employee selection and training, fostering employee understanding, participation and engagement in health and safety matters, developing a health and safety culture at organizational and group/work unit levels, communicating and reinforcing safe workplace practices and bench-marking one's organization against the industry leaders.

Guides the reader through a risk assessment and shows them the proper tools to be used at the various steps in the process. The book also provides readers with a toolbox of techniques that can be used to aid them in analyzing conceptual designs, completed designs, procedures, and operational risk. It includes expanded case studies and real life examples; coverage on risk assessment software like SAPPHIRE and RAVEN; and end-of-chapter questions for students. Chapters progress from the concept of risk, through the simple risk assessment techniques, and into the more complex techniques. Includes 10 new chapters, including Bayesian and Monte Carlo Analyses; Hazard and Operability (HAZOP) Analysis; Threat Assessment Techniques; Cyber Risk Assessment; High Risk Technologies; Enterprise Risk Management Techniques.