Library and Academic Services: Occupational Health and Safety Guide: Databases

Featured Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students, this database contains thousands of full-text journals and magazines, e-books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) This link opens in a new window
CCOHS’s Web Information Service gives access to various health and safety resources related to materials, chemicals, work-related illnesses and injuries, legislation, and more.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, providing 1,781 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly literature in a variety of formats (journals, theses, reports, etc.). Free access to citations, but full-text availability may be limited.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest publications on various environmental topics, some of which are full-text.
JBI (Formerly Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new window
JBI, now available through Ovid Emcare Nursing full-Text Plus, provides evidence-based healthcare information to help inform clinical practice, study, and research. Includes systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and more. (Note: Formerly Joanna Briggs Institute)
JoVE Science Education Database This link opens in a new window
Provides straightforward video demonstrations teaching laboratory fundamentals. The Library has access to the following JOVE collections:
→ Analytical Chemistry
→ Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
→ Essentials of Behavioral Science
→ Essentials of Biology 1
→ Essentials of Biology 2
→ Essentials of Developmental Biology
→ Essentials of General Chemistry
→ Essentials of Neuroscience
→ General Laboratory Techniques
→ Inorganic Chemistry
→ Lab Safety
→ Organic Chemistry
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. (Formerly known as Lynda.com) Sign-in with your college credentials.
MasterFILE Premiere This link opens in a new window
This database contains journals, magazines, newspapers, reference books, photos, maps, and other resources. Subject areas include business, health, education, multicultural issues, and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Medline, available through Ovid Emcare Nursing full-Text Plus, provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and much more. Many of the resources are full-text and all include abstracts. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and health recipes.
National Research Council Codes This link opens in a new window
Access to the National Building Code of Canada, the National Fire Code of Canada, the National Plumbing Code of Canada, and the National Energy Code of Canada.
Note: Follow the RRC instructions provided. Restricted to on-campus usage only.
Ovid Emcare Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wealth of medical information through several Ovid resources, including their journals database, the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database, and the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from various resource formats. Citations may include abstracts and/or links to full-text content. A U.S. National Library of Medicine resource.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to business news through regional business publications across North America. Coverage is weighted towards the U.S., however there is some Canadian coverage as well.
SafetyHub This link opens in a new window
Safetyhub provides and promotes the use of high-quality safety video content as an integral way to ensure that people at work are informed, aware and compliant in their safety training. Important! The Video Content has been made available for informational and educational purposes only. Red River College Polytechnic does not make any representation or warranties with respect to the accuracy, applicability, fitness, or completeness of the Video Content. The content is not intended to be a substitute for instruction or policies/procedures of Red River College Polytechnic and hereby disclaims any and all liability to any party for any direct, indirect, implied, punitive, special, incidental or other consequential damages arising directly or indirectly from any use of the Video Content.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers independent, academic, and professional journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.Note: To access content available to RRC, click on “Advanced” search and select “Only content to which I have full access” to filter results.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers an extensive collection articles, journals, open access publications, and e-books on a variety of topics for researchers, students, teachers, and professionals. Subject areas include physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Gives key statistics on Canada’s economy, society, and environment to help inform citizens and decision-makers. Covers a wide range of subjects, including demographics, labour, education, environment, health, technology, tourism, trade, and much more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical support tool for those in health and medical fields offering evidence-based, physician-authored recommendations based on the latest medical information. Content includes best practices, drug information, patient education, calculators, and more. Click here for registration information.
Vocational Studies Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text journals, magazines, trade publications, and e-books that cover a wide range of subject areas, including alcohol and drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, travel and tourism, and many more.
Wiley Online Library
Access ended December 31, 2023. This cancellation decision has been made based on cost, uniqueness of content, and overlap of content with other databases. Alternative resources for life, health, social, and physical sciences are available through the library. Please contact Charlene Tweed, Manager, Library Resource Management, ctweed@rrc.ca if you have questions or concerns about this resource.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Provide Feedback

Found a broken link? Want to suggest a resource?

Email the Library's general mailbox or email the guide owner to provide feedback for this Library guide. Guide owner information is on the "Getting Started" page of each guide.

You may also want to...