Library and Academic Services: Health Care Aide Guide: Databases

Featured Databases not included in OneSearch

These 'independent' databases are NOT included in OneSearch and must be searched individually. They tend to be more specialized so review the summary for a better understanding of what each entails.

Activity Connection (Sign-in and follow instructions on this page) This link opens in a new window
Program and planning resources for a variety of senior activities. Includes monthly planners, ready-to-go activities and crafts with easy-to-follow instructions, promotional materials, and much more. Note: Connections to this database may sometimes be problematic. If you have problems connecting to this resource, please do not hesitate to Contact us.
CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) This link opens in a new window
CCOHS’s Web Information Service gives access to various health and safety resources related to materials, chemicals, work-related illnesses and injuries, legislation, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly literature in a variety of formats (journals, theses, reports, etc.). Free access to citations, but full-text availability may be limited.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. (Formerly known as Lynda.com) Sign-in with your college credentials.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Medline, available through Ovid Emcare Nursing full-Text Plus, provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and much more. Many of the resources are full-text and all include abstracts. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and health recipes.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
The premier source for evidence-based information. Designed by nurses for nurses, it aids users in providing the highest quality patient care possible. Provides information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, and videos and images to aid in patient care.
Ovid Emcare Nursing Full-Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wealth of medical information through several Ovid resources, including their journals database, the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database, and the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from various resource formats. Citations may include abstracts and/or links to full-text content. A U.S. National Library of Medicine resource.
SafetyHub This link opens in a new window
Safetyhub provides and promotes the use of high-quality safety video content as an integral way to ensure that people at work are informed, aware and compliant in their safety training. Important! The Video Content has been made available for informational and educational purposes only. Red River College Polytechnic does not make any representation or warranties with respect to the accuracy, applicability, fitness, or completeness of the Video Content. The content is not intended to be a substitute for instruction or policies/procedures of Red River College Polytechnic and hereby disclaims any and all liability to any party for any direct, indirect, implied, punitive, special, incidental or other consequential damages arising directly or indirectly from any use of the Video Content.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Offers independent, academic, and professional journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.Note: To access content available to RRC, click on “Advanced” search and select “Only content to which I have full access” to filter results.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical support tool for those in health and medical fields offering evidence-based, physician-authored recommendations based on the latest medical information. Content includes best practices, drug information, patient education, calculators, and more. Click here for registration information.
Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology (2018) This link opens in a new window
Provides easy-to-follow introductions to the different systems of the human body. Includes lessons with 3D models, videos, and guides. Access via the above link on desktop computer (no mobile access)
Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas 2021 This link opens in a new window
Human Anatomy Atlas offers thousands of models to help understand and communicate how the human body looks and works. If you wish to use "Human Anatomy Atlas" on an Apple device, you must download the correct app and open it on campus to gain access. Additional instructions Tablet or Mobile Instructions

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Featured Databases included in OneSearch

These featured databases are included in OneSearch, however, you can select to search them independently.

Why use these links instead of OneSearch?

Using the links below, and searching an EbscoHost database individually - outside of OneSearch, may allow you to access limiters that you won't typically see in OneSearch. (E.g. Business Source Complete - you can limit by NAICS code.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers an extensive collection articles, journals, open access publications, and e-books on a variety of topics for researchers, students, teachers, and professionals. Subject areas include physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Provide Feedback

Found a broken link? Want to suggest a resource?

Email the Library's general mailbox or email the guide owner to provide feedback for this Library guide. Guide owner information is on the "Getting Started" page of each guide.

You may also want to...