Health Care Aide Guide

A comprehensive Back Injury Prevention Program designed to "help employees understand how they can avoid back injuries and determine why they are experiencing pain and discomfort on the job, how to prevent future problems, discover improvements and implement solutions to back problems". -- Guide.

Divided into sections that cover : Body mechanics for the home care aide; Use of body and gait (transfer) belts (safety) ; Body alignment for the client ; Position client in supine (dorsal recumbent) position ; Move client from center to side of bed (used when turning client to side) ; Change from supine to sitting and sitting to supine positions ; Change supine to lateral position ; Sims' position ; Fowler's and Semi-Fowler's positions ; Turn client towards you ; Move client with drawsheet with help of a family member ; Assist client to dangle ; Use a mechanical lift.

"Viewers should be able to safely place patients and residents in the following positions: supine, semi-supine, side-laying, prone."

"Viewers should be able to safely place patients and residents in the following positions: supine, semi-supine, side-laying, prone." -- Container.

"This program demonstrates the techniques for positioning a person who is bed-ridden. This is extremely important for the physical and emotional well being of an individual who cannot move. The position of a bed-ridden person must be changed at least evey two hours to prevent the development of pressure ulcers, promote circulation and comfort."

Demonstrates proper procedures for moving and turning patients in bed.

Demonstrates the proper procedures for the lifting and transferring of patients and assisting with ambulation and preventing injuries during a fall.

"This program is one in a series of videos developed by the Riverview Health Centre to promote safe patient handling techniques."

Falls are among the leading causes of nursing home survey deficiencies, fines, and lawsuits. For a frail, elderly resident, a fall may result in bone fractures such as a broken hip or head injury. Along with physical injuries, falls can have an emotional impact as well, often the resident becomes fearful of falling again. This fear may cause the resident to lose confidence in being able to perform daily activities that he or she was capable of doing before the fall. This revised and updated program describes the actions a CNA should take to help prevent falls among residents. This includes the use of gait belts.

This program demonstrates who is at risk for a fall, how to minimize the risk of falls and what can be done to prevent falls. Different techniques are shown to minimize the risk of falls.

Understanding how to transfer a resident safely can reduce the risk of falls and other accidents. In some cases, a mechanical lift should be used for the safe transfer of residents who are heavy or who are in a weakened state and have little or no mobility. It is important that residents have confidence in your ability to transfer them safely and without injury. You should always take into account a resident's physical and mental condition. Some may have enough strength and mobility to assist in their own transfer, while others may not. Patience and gentleness can help ease a resident's fears...

"Transferring, lifting, repositioning and transporting patients can result in serious injury to both patients and staff if it is done incorrectly. The health and safety of patients and staff are of prime concern at the Riverview Health Centre (RHC). To prevent serious injury to patients and staff, RHC has prepared a patient safety handbook and this video to ensure staff learn the proper techniques for these procedures. This presentation contains three sections describing each of the three mechanical lifts in use ...

Maintaining the full range of joint motion for individuals immobilized for prolonged periods of time is an essential part of the recovery process and improving overall health. This requires a regular program of range of motion exercises to maintain joint mobility and prevent complications associated with prolonged immobility such as decreased peripheral circulation, skin breakdown, and contractures. This program demonstrates and describes the important skills necessary for nursing assistants ...

"Program demonstrates performing range of motion exercises for: the head, neck and spine ; upper extremities: shoulders, elbows, wrists, fingers ; pelvis and lower extremities: hips, knees, ankles, toes."

"Bathing provides the resident with mild exercise, provides an opportunity for close observation of skin condition and enhances circulation. Medcom's classic Nursing assistant program on bathing has been revised and updated to be more convenient to use, more concise and easier to understand".

"Bathing provides the resident with mild exercise, provides an opportunity for close observation of skin condition and enhances circulation. Medcom's classic Nursing assistant program on bathing has been revised and updated to be more convenient to use, more concisde and and easier to understand"

"Bathing provides the resident with mild exercise, provides an opportunity for close observation of skin condition and enhances circulation. Medcom's classic Nursing assistant program on bathing has been revised and updated to be more convenient to use, more concise and easier to understand"

"Bathing provides the resident with mild exercise, provides an opportunity for close observation of skin condition and enhances circulation. Medcom's classis Nursing assistant program on bathing has been revised and updated to be more convenient to use, more concise and and easier to understand"

"Covers the purpose, equipment, preparation, safety, procedure video, follow-up care and review of the steps involved in bathing and bedmaking."

Demonstrates the procedures and techniques used to provide oral care for a patient.

Demostrates the procedures and techniques used to provide oral care for a patient.

Demonstrates the proper techniques and procedures used to help patients with their personal care.

"Covers the purpose, equipment, preparation, and safety steps involved in personal hygiene and grooming. Then goes onto a demonstration of the various steps involved and concludes with follow-up activities and review questions."

This easy step by step instructional video will give you a visual look at cleaning your own dentures. You will see hands on instructions in cleaning and maintaining your dentures. Demonstrates cleaning of complete dentures, upper and lower, Partial denture, upper and lower. You will also learn how to odor free your dentures.

Program discusses the incident rate of nosocomial pressure sores, risk factors for infection, measures to prevent sores and reviews diagnostic and management techniques.