Library and Academic Services: Electrical Engineering Technology: Databases

Featured Databases not included in OneSearch

These 'independent' databases are NOT included in OneSearch and must be searched individually. They tend to be more specialized so review the summary for a better understanding of what each entails.

ASHRAE Standards on Techstreet This link opens in a new window
ASHRAE is a society of heating, refrigerating and air-conditioning engineers that shape industry through research. This database gives students access to Red River College Polytechnic current subscriptions of ASHRAE books, standards, and guidelines. Please refer to this guide for Techstreet tips and instructions.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM develops and publishes technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. The Compass database gives full-text access to the ASTM Book of Standards, Research Reports, and related material.
National Research Council Codes This link opens in a new window
Access to the National Building Code of Canada, the National Fire Code of Canada, the National Plumbing Code of Canada, and the National Energy Code of Canada.
Note: Follow the RRC instructions provided. Restricted to on-campus usage only.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Featured Databases included in OneSearch

These featured databases are included in OneSearch, however, you can select to search them independently.

Why use these links instead of OneSearch?

Using the links below, and searching an EbscoHost database individually - outside of OneSearch, may allow you to access limiters that you won't typically see in OneSearch. (E.g. Business Source Complete - you can limit by NAICS code.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text articles on computing and information technology subject areas. The database includes journals, technical magazines, conference proceedings, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students, this database contains thousands of full-text journals and magazines, e-books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
A database of e-books covering a variety of engineering subject areas. Features include a collection of interactive equations, a unit converter, and other tools. Red River College subscribes to the following collections:
- Aerospace & Radar Technology
- Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
- Electrical & Power Engineering
- Electronics & Semiconductors
- General Engineering & Project Administration
- Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
- Welding Engineering & Materials Joining

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Provide Feedback

Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.

Are you an RRC Polytech staff or student with suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.