Skip to Main Content
Guides

OneSearch (Database Instruction)

OneSearch allows you to search the Library's books, journals, DVDs, databases and media collection all at the same time. This guide will give you an introduction to everything you need to know.
OneSearch Logo
 
Basic Search     Advanced Search    Journal Search

eBooks in OneSearch

Sign in to OneSearch's Advanced Search

1. Enter your search terms and click Search
    For best results leave 'search for' at "everything"

More about OneSearch

2. Once you have some results the filters will be available and we can refine our results to just ebooks

  • Under Availability select Available Online.
  • Under Resource Type select Books.
  • Click Apply Filters.

3.  with the filters active (see image below); we can see results now showing Available Online.

  • Click on a Title to see the results detail
    OR
  • Click the Available Online link and skip to step 5.

4. The item detail shows View Online - we can see which collections the ebook is coming from. There may be multiple links here. Click a link to enter the ebook database. 

The hosting database will show you the item detail. Depending on the host database the next step might be different. Go to step five of whichever database is applicable. 

EBSCOhost (as shown below)

Ebook Central

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: Not all EBSCOhost ebooks show up in OneSearch - if you don't find what you are looking for we suggest that you redo your search directly int EBSCOhost (this is not true for Ebook Central - all Ebook Central ebooks will display in OneSearch). Find ​ebooks in EBSCOhost.