Skip to Main Content
Guides

CPS Full Access (Database Instruction)

RRC Polytech students and faculty access only. CPS Full Access (formerly RxTx) is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy, providing online access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug, and therapeutic information

CPS Browse

CPS has added a new feature - we are now able to browse the Collections. The links to the browsable lists are located under the Drugs/Conditions tab at the top of the page. Select the collection that's best for your needs: 

  • Drug Monographs (CPS)
  • Products for Minor Ailments (CPMA)
  • Clin-Info Topics
  • Therapeutic Choices (CTC)
  • Therapeutic Choices for Minor Ailments (CTMA)
  • Information for Patients: Minor Ailments (CTMA-i)
  • Patient medication information: Drug Monographs (CPS-i)

more about the collections

Example: Browsing Drug Monographs

You can browse the list of Drug Monographs for your desired document. 

 

 

 

1. Click Drugs/Conditions > Drug Monographs to
   access the browse list

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Scroll the list and select the monograph you want to view. 

Use the Alphabet links to jump ahead. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Browse also has a FIND feature.

  1. Type your keyword in the Find box and click [ENTER].
    RxTx will highlight the number of instances of that word in the TITLE of the document. 
    (click the (x) to clear the search)
  2. Use the up/down arrows to advance to the next instance of the highlighted keyword
  3. Click on a monograph to view.

 

 

Document Types

Each type of document is identified by a logo on the search results page. 

Conditions include: 
  • The Products for Minor Ailments (CPMA) is the compendium that looks at nonprescription drugs and devices marketed in Canada for the treatment or management of minor ailments.
  • The Compendium of Therapeutic Choices (CTC) offers practical clinical information covering more than 200 common medical conditions from Acne to Covid-19 to Viral Rhinitis.
  • The Compendium of Therapeutics for Minor Ailments (CTMA) provides a full-spectrum of therapy for over 140 conditions to help manage and triage minor ailments.
Drug Information includes: 
  • The Compendium for Pharmaceuticals and Specialties Specialties (CPS) includes a number of documents including:
    • Full Monographs - The CPS provides product monographs prepared by pharmaceutical manufacturers and approved by Health Canada. Included are products and medical devices with a drug component that is available for use in Canada.
    • CPhA Monographs - The CPS also includes monographs developed by the editorial staff of the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA). They are based on the best available evidence and reviewed by expert physicians and pharmacists. Readers should be aware that the text may contain information different from that found in Health Canada-approved Product Monographs.
Patient Information includes:

  • Patient Medication Information - Extracted from the larger CPS monographs, Patient Medication Information monographs are intended to be used separately as information for the patient. They contain information written in plain language. 

  • Minor Ailments - Information for the Patient - Extracted from the larger CTMA, these documents are written specifically for patients in plain language.
Clin-Info Topics includes:
  • Clin-Info Topics provides a quick reference to clinical information and practice tools for healthcare professionals. This information is not intended to present a comprehensive review.

More information