Library and Academic Services: Communication Guide: Communication

Communication

Good communication involves an awareness of what to say in a given format. Beginning with the body (non-verbal communication) we work our way from an individual perspective to how we communicate with groups. Without the individual foundations (self-awareness, emotional intelligence etc) how we receive these common forms of communication can make, or break, a task:

Keywords

Use the following keywords to get started searching this subject area:

Active Listening
Body language
Communication Skills
Listening
Gestures
Meetings

Negotiation
Presentations
Public Speaking
Questioning Techniques
Technical Communication

Featured Books

Business Communication:Polishing Your Professional Prescence by Barbara Lynne Shwom
Location: HF 5718 .S47 2017 (Notre Dame/Exchange District Campus)
"The purpose of Business Communication: Polishing Your Professional Presence is to prepare students for workforce communication challenges by teaching them: 1) how to communicate with others (interpersonally, interculturally, and globally); 2) how, and when, to best use new technologies; and 3) how to be more strategic toward the achievement of business goals. The fundamental message of the book is as follows: "Your career success--and sometimes even the success of your company--depends on your ability to be professional, adaptable, and strategic about your communication choices."--Book Description
Business Communication Essentials: A Skills-Based Approach by Courtland L. Bovee, John V. Thill
Location: HF 5718 .B65 2016 (Notre Dame Campus)
Contents in Brief:
Part 1: Business Communication Foundations
Part 2: The Three-Step Writing Process
Part 3: Brief Business Messages
Part 4: Longer Business Messages
Part 5: Employment Messages and Job Interviews
Business Writing in the Digital Age by Natalie Canavor
Location: HF 5718.3 .C36 2012- Located at Notre Dame Campus
Business Writing for the Digital Age: A Student's Guide can be used as a core or supplementary text for business writing courses and across the Business and Management curriculum as a student aid to better writing. The text instructs business students how to write for the 21st century business environment in the style it demands: clearly, concisely, powerfully, and with individuality. It also addresses explicitly the digital realm of email, social networking, and social media strategies.
Essentials of Business Communication by Mary Ellen Guffey, Dana Loewy, Richard Almonte.
Location: HF 5718.3 .G84 2019- Located at Exchange District Campus
This book covers all of the basic information you'll need on the topic of business communication. Some topics include communication in the digital age, business writing, writing at work, business reports and proposals, professionalism and speaking skills, and communicating for employment.
Getting to Yes by Roger Fisher; William Ury; Bruce Patton
Location: BF 637 .N4 F57 2011 (Notre Dame Campus)
Since it was first published in 1981 Getting to Yes has become a central book in the Business Canon: the key text on the psychology of negotiation. Its message of "principled negotiations"--finding an acceptable compromise by determining which needs are fixed and which are flexible for negotiating parties--has influenced generations of businesspeople, lawyers, educators and anyone who has sought to achieve a win-win situation in arriving at an agreement."--Provided by publisher.

For a list of the newest books in the library check out New Materials.

Featured eBooks

The AMA Handbook of Business Documents by Kevin Wilson; Jennifer Wauson
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents takes the guesswork out of preparing first-class written pieces of every type. Packed with dozens of sample documents and practical tips, this handy guide is everything you need to create: Proposals • Memos • E-mails • Press releases • Collection letters • Speeches • Technical, research and lab reports • Sales letters • Policies and procedures • Warning letters • Announcements • And much more.--Book Desciption
Global Business Etiquette by Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. Chaney
Location: Electronic resource
ISBN: 9780313397172
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
This book provides the invaluable intercultural knowledge to help you make a deal, sell your product, or find a joint venture, no matter where your business takes you.
Writing a Business Plan: A Practical Guide by Ignatius Ekanem
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Writing a Business plan is designed to teach you how to write your business plan without relying on someone else or internet templates. It will take you through each stage of business-plan writing, with chapters on generating ideas; describing business opportunities; drawing a business road map; and considering marketing, financial, operations, HR, legal and risk. The book includes a range of features to assist you, including worked-through examples.

Suggested Websites

Grammarly
A Grammarly free account offers grammar and spelling checks on document uploads or as an browser extension. Paid accounts offer these checks along with vocabulary ehancemencement and genre specific grammar checking.
Grammar Girl Podcast
Mignon Fogarty is the founder of the Quick and Dirty Tips network and creator of Grammar Girl, which has been named one of Writer's Digest's 101 best websites for writers multiple times. She is also an inductee in the Podcasting Hall of Fame.--Website

Linkedin Learning

Business Writing Principles
Discover the secrets to effective business writing and crafting messages that others want to read and act on. Judy Steiner-Williams, senior lecturer at Kelley School of Business, introduces you to the 10 Cs of strong business communication and provides you with before-and-after writing samples that give you the opportunity to apply each principle and sharpen your communication skills. Judy also points out common grammar and writing mistakes and shares special considerations for formats like emails and reports.
Interpersonal Communication Skills
In this course, learn strategies that can help you hone and master your interpersonal communication skills. Join personal branding and career expert Dorie Clark as she shares techniques for getting your message across effectively in the workplace, and explains how to tackle potential communication challenges with your colleagues and supervisor. She also discusses how to grapple with tricky situations, taking you through how to handle interruptions, respond to critical feedback, and communicate across cultures.

Featured Databases included in OneSearch

These featured databases are included in OneSearch, however, you can select to search them independently.

Why use these links instead of OneSearch?

Using the links below, and searching an EbscoHost database individually - outside of OneSearch, may allow you to access limiters that you won't typically see in OneSearch. (E.g. Business Source Complete - you can limit by NAICS code.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students, this database contains thousands of full-text journals and magazines, e-books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This communication studies database provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Provide Feedback

Found a broken link? Want to suggest a resource?

Email the Library's general mailbox or email the guide owner to provide feedback for this Library guide. Guide owner information is on the "Getting Started" page of each guide.

You may also want to...

Communication Guide

On this page

Browse the Stacks