Library and Academic Services: Communication Guide: Culture & Professionalism

Culture & Professionalism

The first step, before a single word gets spoken or written, starts with knowledge. First, begin knowing yourself, and that means everything about yourself, then know your surroundings, including getting to know your colleagues, as part of your engagement with an organization or department. The following skills serve as a foundation to communication, after all, it starts with an individual:

Keywords

Use the following keywords to get started searching this subject area:

Body language
Collaboration
Critical thinking
Culture
Engagement
Intercultural competence

Mindfulness
Non-verbal communication
Self
Self-awareness
Self-reflection
Teamwork

Featured Titles

The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Climate and Culture by Benjamin Schneider; Karen M. Barbera
Location: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Climate and Culture presents the breadth of topics from Industrial and Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior through the lenses of organizational climate and culture. The Handbook reveals in great detail how in both research and practice climate and culture reciprocally influence each other. The details reveal the many practices that organizations use to acquire, develop, manage, motivate, lead, and treat employees both at home and in the multinational settings that characterize contemporary organizations.--Description
Why Should Anyone Work Here? by Rob Goffee; Gareth Jones
Location: HD 58.7 .G64155 2015 (Notre Dame Campus)
"It used to be that businesses could ask individuals to conform to the organization's needs. But now leaders are charged with creating the best company on earth to work for: they must transform their organizations to attract the right people, keep them, and inspire them to do their best work. In Why Should Anyone Work Here? Rob Goffee and Gareth Jones identify the six key organizational attributes to do just that. In separate chapters, they delve deeply into each one: 1. Let people be themselves 2. Practice radical honesty 3. Magnify people's strengths 4. Stand for authenticity (more than shareholder value) 5. Make work meaningful 6. Make simple rules With vivid stories and examples, the authors illustrate the kind of strong, attractive workplace culture that leads to sustained high performance.--Description
The Culture Code by Daniel Coyle
Location: HD 66 .C675 2018 (Exchange District Campus)
Daniel Coyle spent three years researching the question of what makes a successful group tick, visiting some of the world's most productive groups--including Pixar, Navy SEALs, Zappos, IDEO, and the San Antonio Spurs. Coyle discovered that high-performing groups relentlessly generate three key messages that enable them to excel: 1) Safety - we are connected. 2) Shared Risk - we are vulnerable together. 3) Purpose - we are part of the same story. Filled with first-hand reporting, fascinating science, compelling real-world stories, and leadership tools that can apply to businesses, schools, sports, families, and any kind of group, The Culture Code will revolutionize how you think about creating and sustaining successful groups.--Provided by publisher.

LinkedIn Learning

Sign through HUB.rrc.ca to access these videos and more from LinkedIn Learning

Organizational Culture
An organization's culture is evidenced in its values, policies, attitudes, structures, and beliefs. It is a tangible asset that impacts morale and company performance, and it can be built, nurtured, and changed. In this course, leadership speaker and consultant Sara Canaday defines organizational culture and explores the different types of cultures prevalent today.
The Culture Code (Blinkist Summary)
How can you get the best performance out of a group? In his 2018 book, The Culture Code, Daniel Coyle delves into this topic, sharing research and personal insights that managers and employees can leverage to better understand group dynamics. This audiobook summary distills The Culture Code into a series of concise strategies for giving your team purpose and cultivating a positive company culture. Get tips that can help you boost your listening skills, build a sense of closeness in your group, connect a group to their mutual purpose, and more.

Featured Databases included in OneSearch

These featured databases are included in OneSearch, however, you can select to search them independently.

Why use these links instead of OneSearch?

Using the links below, and searching an EbscoHost database individually - outside of OneSearch, may allow you to access limiters that you won't typically see in OneSearch. (E.g. Business Source Complete - you can limit by NAICS code.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students, this database contains thousands of full-text journals and magazines, e-books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This communication studies database provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

For the complete list of databases RRC subscribes to, check out A-Z List of Databases.

Make a recommendation

Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.

Are you an RRC Polytech staff or student with suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.

Communication Guide

On this page

Browse the Stacks