Skip to Main Content

Nursing Community Assessment

This guide will help you gather information about communities in order to analyze health issues and health needs from a population perspective.

Social Services

Regional Health Authority


Manitoba is divided into 5 health regions, each governed by a Regional Health Authority. 


Links to annual reports, the Community Health Assessment reports, and other publications can be found on the individual RHA websites (above). The RHA annual reports usually contain whatever budgetary information is made public. 

In addition, the Manitoba Center for Health Policy at the University of Manitoba publishes statistical and analytical reports on health regions and/or districts.

Winnipeg Health Region (WRHA)


Communities in this Health Region:

Unlike other RHAs The Winnipeg Health Region, governed by the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, is divided into 12 communities 

  • Assiniboine South
  • Downtown
  • Fort Garry
  • Inkster
  • Point Douglas
  • River East
  • River Heights
  • St. Boniface
  • St. James Assiniboia
  • St. Vital
  • Seven Oaks
  • Transcona



Links to annual reports, the Community Health Assessment report and other publications are on the Reports and Publications page.

Manitoba Regional Health Authorities Community Reports:

Provide information on health status, and determinants of health of community residents using a population health approach. Describes the conditions that contribute to health disparities.