Library and Academic Services: Starting a Business: Databases & Data Repositories

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This leading scholarly research database houses thousands of full-text resources in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas. Includes periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, reports, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students, this database contains thousands of full-text journals and magazines, e-books, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream gives full-text access to almost 200 Canadian newspapers with some electronic backfiles dating back to the 1970s. Content is updated daily, giving timely access to the latest information.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
This database centers on its collection of Canadian full-text content including newspapers, magazines, journals, biographies, reference books, images, and more. Also has access to international content.
Conference Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Conference Board of Canada conducts quality research related to organizational performance, economic trends, and public policy. This database includes their reports, briefings, periodicals, executive action reports, and recorded webinars.
CPA Handbook This link opens in a new window
This digital version of the CPA Handbook is fully searchable, updated frequently, and includes calculators and tax rate tables.
Financial Performance Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial Performance Data provides detailed business and industry reports to help new and existing businesses to make informed decisions. A Government of Canada resource.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian and US industry reports containing trends, market information, industry statistics, competitive landscape, and other industry-related information.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. (Formerly known as Lynda.com) Sign-in with your college credentials.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to business news through regional business publications across North America. Coverage is weighted towards the U.S., however there is some Canadian coverage as well.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to business news through regional business publications across North America. Coverage is weighted towards the U.S., however there is some Canadian coverage as well.
Statistics Canada This link opens in a new window
Gives key statistics on Canada’s economy, society, and environment to help inform citizens and decision-makers. Covers a wide range of subjects, including demographics, labour, education, environment, health, technology, tourism, trade, and much more.

Data Repositories & Data Portals

Some of these data portals can be challenging to navigate. Look for FAQs, How to Use, Get Started, and so on, for links to tutorials and explanations of how to make the best of the tool. Many of these tools have video tutorials on YouTube as well.

Economic Development Winnipeg
Economic Development Winnipeg's core services and initiatives include provide community and lifestyle information, local key economic indicators, data tables, key industries and a report builder.
OECD Data Portal
Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications.
Our World In Data
Poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality: The world faces many great and terrifying problems. It is these large problems that our work at Our World in Data focuses on. Thanks to the work of thousands of researchers around the world who dedicate their lives to it, we often have a good understanding of how it is possible to make progress against the large problems we are facing.
SDG Indicators Database
SDG (Sustainable Development Goals) Global Database gives you access to data on more than 210 SDG indicators for countries across the globe by indicator, country, region or time period
Thompson River Univeirsty Open Data Guide
This guide from Thomson Rivers University includes links to open data from governments and international agencies.
UN Comtrade
The world's most comprehensive global trade data platform
The United Nations Comtrade database aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises. Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade. Information can be extracted in a variety of formats, including API developer tools for integration into enterprise applications and workflows
UN Data
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
World Bank Open Data
At the World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. Working closely with the Bank’s regions and Global Practices, the group is guided by professional standards in the collection, compilation and dissemination of data to ensure that all data users can have confidence in the quality and integrity of the data produced.

Provide Feedback

Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.

Are you an RRC Polytech staff or student with suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.