Library and Academic Services: Gender and Sexual Diversity: Education, Teachers, Students

Education, Teachers, Students

This section is dedicated to perceptions and experiences of “LGBTQ-inclusive” education, including curriculum and practices that include positive and accurate information about lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, Two Spirit, and queer people, as well as issues related to gender and sexual diversity (also known as GSD-inclusive education).

This type of education includes students who would otherwise be marginalized by school climates that are typically hostile to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, Two Spirit, queer students, or students questioning their sexual orientation or gender identity.

Image source: RRC Polytechnic Flickr

Queer Students

Dignity for all safeguarding LGBT students by DeWitt, Peter,
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2012
Students who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgendered are susceptible to harassment from their peers and are at high risk of dropping out of school. This book provides professional development ideas and real-life vignettes that will help educational leaders foster a more caring school culture not only for LGBT students, but for all students.
Queering classrooms : personal narratives and educational practice to support LGBTQ youth in schools by Mikulec, Erin A., editor.; Iida, Paul Chamness, editor.
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Teacher Education programs have largely ignored the needs of LGBTIQ learners in their preparation of pre-service teachers. At best, in most of such programs, their needs are addressed in a single chapter in a book or as the topic of discussion in a single class discussion. However, is this minimal discussion enough? What kind of impact does this approach have on future teachers and their future learners? This book engages the reader in a dialogue about why teacher education must address LGBTIQ issues more openly and why teacher education programs should revise their curriculum to more fully integrate the needs of LGBTIQ learners ...
Responsive School Practices to Support Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Students and Families by Emily S. Fisher; Kelly S. Kennedy
Location: HQ 73 .F57 2012 (Located at NDC)
Publication Date: 2012
The needs and rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) students and families are often ignored, generally misunderstood, and only rarely given priority by the school system. This book provides a practical and useful guide for school-based mental health professionals to support students, families, teachers, and administrators in the development of a safe, inclusive school environment for all LGBTQ students and families. It begins with an overview of the unique issues and challenges faced by LGBTQ students and families, including a discussion of sexuality and gender identity development within the interconnected contexts of home, school, and community. Practical steps are given for creating an inclusive school environment; implementing prevention and intervention techniques to address discrimination, bullying, and violence; and organizing effective ...
Safe Spaces: Making Schools and Communities Welcoming to LGBT Youth by Annemarie Vaccaro; Gerri August; Megan S. Kennedy
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Safe Spaces: Making Schools and Communities Welcoming to LGBT Youth is the first book to offer a comprehensive view of the complex lives of LGBT youth of all ages, from kindergarten through college. Drawing on a wealth of research collected from first-person accounts of students, family, educators, and community members, the authors not only chronicle the struggles of LGBT youth but also describe models of inclusive school and community environments. The authors address the breadth of experiences of LGBT youth--in and out of the classroom, at home and in the community, and in personal interactions with allies and antagonists....

Queer Teachers

Authentic Leadership by Lemuel W. Watson
Location: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
This book provides new insights about the roles in which LGBTQ individuals contribute in society and various organizations. The literature is divided into two sections. Section one includes three chapters from higher education administrators, faculty and community activists. The chapters share personal narratives describing the life experiences of those who are often marginalized within academia. Each chapter provides personal and professional aspects of the authors'lives. Section two includes four chapters which, shares voices of people whom are normally excluded from research. Each author's identity is shared as an aspect of their research.
Dear gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender teacher : letters of advice to help you find your way by DeJean, William, editor.; Sapp, Jeffrey Lynn, editor
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Dear Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, And Transgender Teacher: Letters Of Advice To Help You Find Your Way is full of the voices of queer educators and calls for educational leaders to be allies in their social justice leadership roles. Queer professionals write personal letters to junior queer colleagues answering the general prompt, "What have you learned as a queer educator that you believe is essential to the success of current or future gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgendered educators?"The responses are thoughtful, powerful, poignant, and direct. The collection of letters includes senior queer professionals, pre-service teachers who were currently in university courses at the very beginning of their careers, and PreK-12 professionals at the...
One Teacher in Ten in the New Millennium : LGBT educators speak out about what's gotten better and what hasn't by Kevin Jennings
Location: LB 2844.1 .G39 O645 2015 (Located at NDC)
Twenty completely new stories of negotiating the triumphs and challenges of being an LGBT educator in the twenty-first century For more than twenty years, the One Teacher in Ten series has served as an invaluable source of strength and inspiration for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender educators. This all-new edition brings together stories from across America--and around the world--resulting in a rich tapestry of varied experiences. From a teacher who feels he must remain closeted in the comparative safety of New York City public schools to teachers who are out in places as far afield as South Africa and China, the teachers and school administrators in One Teacher in Ten in the New Millennium prove that LGBT educators are as diverse and complex as humanity itself. Voices largely absent from the first two editions--including ...
Queer Studies: beyond binaries by Bruce Henderson
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2019
This book is designed as an advanced undergraduate textbook in queer studies for this rapidly growing field. It is also appropriate as an early required or recommended graduate textbook in queer, gender and sexuality studies. The author uses the over-arching concept of queering, drawn from queer theory, as a way of lookingat the lives of queer people across a range of concepts and drawn from different academic and scholarly disciplines. The intention is to survey these disciplines, beginning with the foundational study of language, and then provide pedagogical approaches to varieties of both scholarly and human experiences ranging from education, the rituals of marriage, advocating for justice, and more.
School's Out: gay and lesbian teachers in the classroom. by Cati Connell
Location: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
How do gay and lesbian teachers negotiate their professional and sexual identities at work, given that these identities are constructed as mutually exclusive, even as mutually opposed? Using interviews and other ethnographic materials from Texas and California, School's Out explores how teachers struggle to create a classroom persona that balances who they are and what's expected of them in a climate of pervasive homophobia. Catherine Connell's examination of the tension between the rhetoric of gay pride and the professional ethic of discretion insightfully connects and considers complicating factors, from local law and politics to gender privilege. She also describes how racialized discourses of homophobia thwart challenges to sexual injustices in schools...

The Every Teacher Project Toolkit
The Every Teacher Project Recommendations Toolkit is the culmination of an unprecedented national research effort to advance knowledge on LGBTQ-inclusive education. The Every Teacher Project / projet Chaque prof was a SSHRC-funded national survey of Canadian teachers’ perceptions and experiences of LGBTQ-inclusive education conducted in 2012/2013.

Make a recommendation

Do you have a title to recommend for our collection? Use the Suggest a Purchase form to suggest a book, video or journal.

Are you an RRC Polytech staff or student with suggestions or feedback that can help improve this guide? Please contact this guide's author on the "Getting Started" page.