Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks (Software Instruction)

RefWorks online software simplifies the process of research, collaboration, data organization, and writing by providing an easy-to-use tool for citation, bibliography, and reference management. Learn how to build a collection of references.

Using Shared Folders

Sharing Folders (You >> Other users)

There are many ways to access the share settings for a folder. All paths lead to the same destination. 

Note: In order to share a reference, it must first be in a folder. 

 

A. Share button (horizontal toolbar)

1. Click the "Share" button on the top (horizontal) toolbar.

2. From the drop-down select "Share Folder".

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

B. Sharing (Vertical toolbar)

1. Expand "Sharing" by clicking V (if not expanded already)

2. Click "Share a folder"

3. Select a folder to share from the Sharing settings popup

 

 

 

 

C. My Folders (Vertical toolbar)

1. Expand "My Folders" by clicking V (if not expanded already)

2. Click the action button (vertical dots) beside the folder

3. Select "Sharing settings" from the dropdown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sharing Settings

 

There are three sections to the sharing settings. sections can be expanded/collapsed by clicking on the triangle beside the title. ex. "settings for"

 

Settings for: 

This identifies:

  • which folder settings will be applied 
  • who will have access
    • only invited people 
    • anyone at RRC (account holder)

 

Public URL

This URL allows you to share your folder with a non-account holder (ex. a peer who doesn't yet have a RefWorks account or a person outside of RRC.) 

Note. URL is active until you click "remove URL"

 

Shared with

Here you can indicate:

  • which RRC peers you want to share your folder with by entering their RRC email address
  • what they can do with the folder
    • read-only
    • annotate (make notes, comments on PDFs)
    • modify (add, edit, remove references)

 

Modifying Share settings

To make changes to the settings of a shared folder. 

1. Go to Sharing Settings

2. Under "Shared With"; click the names to expand this section.

3. Make changes to the sharee (Can view, modify, annotate) or remove them entirely by clicking (X) Remove.

 

If removing ALL sharees, you can also click the "Unshare Folder" button.

Sharing Folders (Other users >> You)

When others share folders with YOU.

 

When somebody shares a folder with you a couple of things will happen.

1. You will receive an email from RefWorks notifying you that somebody is sharing a folder with you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. When a folder is newly shared you will see a number and the folder will have a checkmark button beside it. You must accept the folder in order to work with it.